Pandemic relief money announced for outlying cities

More than $2 million combined is allocated for Oak Grove, Pembroke, Crofton and LaFayette.

Christian County’s four outlying communities — Oak Grove, Pembroke, Crofton and LaFayette — will receive a combined $2.35 million from the American Rescue Plan, state officials announced Thursday. 

The amounts allocated to each of the incorporated cities are:

  • Oak Grove — $1,895,579 
  • Pembroke — $230,214
  • Crofton — $183,084
  • LaFayette — $41,433

“Local governments have been important partners in our battle against COVID-19, and we know they have taken on great hardship and expenses to protect our people,” Gov. Andy Beshear said in a news release. “I’m relieved our eligible city governments will receive these funds, because if we are to build a better Kentucky, we must ensure our communities are supported and positioned for growth.”

The funding is intended to help offset COVID-19 expenses, including the cost of personal protective gear, vaccination clinics, loss of revenue, payroll and other expenses. 

Previously, American Rescue Plan allocations were announced for the city of Hopkinsville ($6.74 million) and Christian Fiscal Court ($13.67 million). 

The Kentucky Department for Local Government is distributing the money. Cities will receive a portion of the money as early as next week, according to the release.

Pandemic relief money announced for outlying cities

Jennifer P. Brown

Jennifer P. Brown is the founder and editor of Hoptown Chronicle. You can reach her at

COVID-19 in Christian County

Stay Informed